Vote Labour You Know It Makes Sense

big_kev

Ministers have been forced to concede that more than half of all jobs created since Labour came to power have gone to migrants. They were also forced to clarify again their figures on the number of foreign workers in the country.

On Monday night the Government had said that the number of foreign workers who had taken up jobs in Britain since 1997 was 1.1 million rather than 800,000....oops!....it now seems to be 1.5 million.

Jacqui Smith, the Home Secretary, insisted nonetheless on BBC News

I work in a factory which employs around 900 highly skilled and dedicated, well paid employees. several years ago the company started outsourcing the more menial tasks to agency workers.

For various reasons this outsourcing was accepted by the unions and the workforce. but very recently this policy has brought us to the verge of strike action as our employer attempts to outsource more and more positions within the factory. the jobs now under threat are not just the menial less skilled jobs but those of our highly trained and experienced workforce.

But this is not the reason for my post, up until 2 years ago the agency workers were almost all (if not totally) british nationals. today there are only a handful of british nationals left. The rest are a mix of european nationalities, mostly polish.

so what has happened to the 100 or so british workers they have replaced?

in our area there has been an increase in minimum wage jobs. It is an area of traditionally low unemployment and as a result employers have paid premium wages for staff (especially in manufacturing). Now with the influx of cheap foriegn labour the need to pay decent wages is gone. Agency staff are replacing traditional employees in all the local factories, and the migrant workers are flocking to the area to take up these positions. locals are struggling to find work as a result.